Missionary Plaque Scripture

Isaiah 41:10 KJV   Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

 

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Isaish 41.10

This is my missionary scripture. There is something in these words that touched my heart as I read them while going through all of the highlighted scriptures in my beat up quad in order to find the “perfect missionary plaque scripture.” I didn’t know this scripture well, but I felt impressed to choose this as my scripture rather than many other scriptures that I’ve come to know and cherish. Why? I am not perfectly sure, but somehow I know this is a scripture that I need to constantly remember throughout my mission.

A couple of Sunday’s ago, the closing song in relief Society was “How Firm a Foundation.” And suddenly I realized how familiar the scripture really was as we sung the third verse.

 

  • 1. How firm a foundation, ye Saints of the Lord,
    Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!
    What more can he say than to you he hath said,
    Who unto the Savior, who unto the Savior,
    Who unto the Savior for refuge have fled?
  • 2. In ev’ry condition–in sickness, in health,
    In poverty’s vale or abounding in wealth,
    At home or abroad, on the land or the sea–
    As thy days may demand, as thy days may demand,
    As thy days may demand, so thy succor shall be.
  • 3. Fear not, I am with thee; oh, be not dismayed,
    For I am thy God and will still give thee aid.
    I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
    Upheld by my righteous, upheld by my righteous,
    Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

 

One thing people constantly ask me is if I’m nervous yet. Thankfully, I am not. I feel like people think I should be, and maybe I should and maybe I will, but I am not worried. I feel both excitement and peace in serving a mission. I am not confident in my abilities, oh heck no. I’m not that great at teaching or scripture memorization, I am terrible at Spanish. In no way am I confident in my own abilities. But I am confident in my Father in Heaven.Where I falter, He will lift me up. And though I’m lost and clueless of what my mission has in store for me, He knows what to do and He knows the way.

“Fear not, for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God”  This is His work, this is His gospel, and this is His plan. A mission will not be easy in the slightest. I know I will have trials and struggles bigger than I have ever experienced before; but it will also be filled with rich blessings and happiness as I preach the gospel and serve the people there. It is work, but it is a work that I will not ever regret.

“Hard times will be there, but so will Christ.” –Al Fox.  I have a Father in Heaven who loves me more than I can even attempt to comprehend. So why should I fear?

Should I fear failure? Should I become dismayed when I do not know the language, the work is hard and seemingly unrewarding, I feel alone and far away from home, and I feel like no matter what I do and how hard I try things just don’t go right? Easier said than done, but I have no reason to.

General Conference 2013I love the quote by Elder Ballard, “It is impossible to fail when you do your best and when you are on the Lord’s errand.” Do your best, that is all that we can ever do. But we’ve also been promised that that is enough. The Lord will strengthen and help us. “It is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength…it is expedient that he should be diligent” Mosiah 4:27

What we need to have is faith. Because I have faith I have no need to be worried, to be afraid. “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.” Ether 12:27

Faithful

As I have said before, in no way do I feel confident in my teaching abilities, scripture skills, or any ability to speak Spanish at all. I can’t roll my “r”s or have even a semi-convincing Spanish accent, so I may be a gringa forever, but one thing I do got is faith in the Lord, a testimony to share, and the determination to “go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded.” Ne 3:7

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

